Any reason to use PLA over PETG, other than cost?

I am fairly new to the 3d Printing world ( since end of Sept 2020). I have found all the videos very educational and helpful.

I have gotten to the point that I can print very well with both PLA and PETG. I have not found any reason to print with anything else…yet.

Both print very well. I know PETG is more flexible and durable as well as less sensitive to temperature.

So out of curiosity more than anything else I thought I might get my answer here (Google is not giving me the more direct answer I am looking for!)

Other than COST, why would I want to print with PLA over PETG, knowing that printing for me is easy in either case?

What things if any would be better to print in PLA then PETG?

Thanks for any feed back. I love learning about this stuff !!

Pros for PLA: [LIST=1]

• cost (as you mentioned)
  • much greater variety of filaments (shiny, silk-like, metallic, wood, and others)
  • I personally feel it can print finer detail [/LIST] Pros for PETG: [LIST=1]
  • stronger
  • more heat resistant
  • more flexible (bends before breaking) [/LIST] I would use PLA for fine-detailed items, and ones where you want a little more pizazz: e.g. [U]https://forum.drvax.com/forum/pictures-of-your-builds/5926-xmas-presents[/U]. I would also use it for lithophanes.
  • Thanks.

So the key things I was missing is the “finer detail” and the “variety”.

I happen to have more variety of PETG at the moment, just worked out that way. I just printed a Blue and Clear (though it does not come out that way) Rose in PETG. I will have to run some tests on the detail and quality to see how each come out with PLA. And may get some of those nicer colors in PLA.

I haven’t really seen any of the shiny or silk filaments in PETG. There just seems to be a greater variety of finishes in PLA.