Temperature Tower issues

I am still new to 3D printing and have only had my 3D printer (Creality Ender 3 Pro) for a couple of months. It seems to print okay though not great. I changed to a metal extruder and recalibrated it. My one issue right now is when I try to print a temperature tower. I have tried several, but the temperature never changes even though I setup the various scripts in Cura that tell it to change the temperature. I was wondering if anyone had any idea what I am doing wrong.

Interesting. I made a temperature tower today but Cura 4.7.1 only inserted the last few temperature changes. Instead of seeing if it was me or Cura, I editing the g-code and manually inserted: “M104 S[temp]” after the layer (search for “;LAYER:[integer]”) where the model repeats. In my case, that was every 50 layers.

Bottomline: I think it’s Cura (they changed the way the program parses text in 4.7 to speed the program up).

Cheers

I would agree except I changed to Cura 4.6.2 and I am having the same problem. I am sure it is something I am doing or not doing. But I might try your idea about just inserting the temperature in the gcode itself.

Yeah. In the Cura Preview, move the slider up and down to figure out how may layers there are per tower segment. Then, look for “layer xx” in the gcode, where xx is the next layer up in the stack. Keep adding the layers value and search again, and so on.

I did another temperature tower yesterday in Cura and it worked. The only thing that I can think of that I did differently is that it was the first thing I did in Cura. Launched the program, loaded the tower, set the post processing settings of the g-code, and sliced. The previous time, I had used Cura to slice various models while tweaking different settings. Maybe I forgot to reload my current default profile.

Cheers