Prusaslicer filament change. M600

I thought my Marlin 1.9.1.x wasn’t working because it was not activated but I have found out in Arduino that it is. I wonder if it is the fault of my only having an 8 bit board.
Does anyone have any other ideas.

I’ve used filament change in Prusaslicer before and it worked just fine. It was on my Ender 3 v2 with the 4.2.2 board which I think is 32 bit.

The 4.2.x boards are all 32 bit.

I don’t understand what you are getting at. I just want to know why Marlin isn’t recognizing the M600 command which I have seen in a text editor that it does insert. Prusa is inserting the code but Marlin breezes past it.

As a programmer, my 1st thought is that Marlin is ignoring the M600 because it doesn’t recognize the command, because it doesn’t have the code to handle it. That is likely because there simply isn’t room for that code in the firmware of the 8-bit board.

The answer is straightforward; install a 32-bit board. I realize that may be something you don’t feel comfortable doing, but perhaps your techie friend can help?

Why not revert to Cura, do a post processing command to pause, change filament and tell it to continue. I have used one of several such commands to change color of filament.

@Lowteck our Montreal friend prefers PrusaSlicer :wink: but I believe the same technique can be used with it too.

I really have to get back to learning IM. It does seem to be more advanced.

In PrusaSlicer you slice the object then slide the slider do the layer you want to change filament on and click the little right arrow on the slider. That’s it and then when printing it will stop at that layer, move the printhead off the print. Tell you to change filament. When you have it loaded you click ok and it will purge some filament then continue printing.