O-ring seal?

I am making an underwater housing (needs to be good to 150 feet) with O-ring seals. I am new to 3D printing, and will be handing stl files to a friend to do the actual fab. What I do not know is how well O-rings seal against 3D printed materials. In this case the seal will be between a groove in a printed part and the inside of a length of SCH 80 PVC pipe. Any insight/guidance would be appreciated!

(And a quick question that is probably in a FAQ somewhere. Given the name DrVAX, is it safe to assume the proprietor was a VMS guy back in the day?)

A 3D printed underwater housing good to 150 ft.??? I’m not sure how doable this really is. It seems like you’re asking a lot. For sure it would have to be really thick.

Guys, what do you think; is this a crazy idea?

And, yes, Irv worked for DEC back in the day.

I am bad at physics, but this sounds like a huge amount of pressure and the seal seems to be the least of the problems here.

I go back with DEC to PDP 11/45s. Back in the day part of my job was going around the country shoving nonstandard Q-bus boards into microVAXen, stuffing them with 300 MB Maxtor drives (for only $4000 a pop - amazing!), and connecting them to things like 9-track tape drives. This actually annoyed DEC at the time, because their usage model was having microVAXes surrounding a 780 which drove peripherals. They looked at us askance when we decided that for our uses we didn’t need the 780s at all. I even wrote a bunch of real-time instrument control software. Turns out you could do a lot with all of those sys$you_name_it calls! None of which is relevant to the question at hand…