Material resembling Bakelite

Greetings,

I am new to 3D printing–so new that I don’t have a 3D printer yet! I have a Sovol SV01 arriving on Monday.

One of the reasons I am getting into 3D printing is to make replacement parts for obsolete and antique electronics. I am wondering what 3D printing material most resembles Bakelite–not all of the properties like heat and chemical resistance necessarily, but a something that feels and looks similar. Bakelite is dense, it has some heft in your hand. And it’s hard and doesn’t deform.

What should I experiment with?

Best regards,
Mike

This sounds challenging, given we are talking thermosetting polymers versus thermoplastic polymers. You might consider making the part on the SV01, weighting it, and coating it to get the feel you are looking for. This table might help match the properties you are interested in: Ultimate 3D Printing Material Properties Table

Cheers

P.S. – Maybe ABS is the place to start. From wikipedia: