Freecad .19 windows install

I’m new to this and old! I’ve tried to follow the latest you tube video to install freecad .19 in windows 10 but when I click on the file I get a message asking what programme I want to open it with. Double clicking the folder as per the video gives me a list of contents but nothing like what appears on Dr Vax video. Before I give up and resort to version .18 does anyone have any suggestions please. I’ve already tried shouting at the laptop.

This sounds like you got a 7z or .zip file. You need to uncompress it before you can run the installer. It could also be that you got the wrong version for another operation system.

Your filename should look like this:

https://github.com/realthunder/FreeC…t5-20200812.7z

You should be able to use right click and use “extract all” or something like that. Then you can double click the install icon inside the extracted folder.
Unlike official stable releases FreeCAD 0.19 betas are delivered as archive containing the installer. Unlike the 0.18 from the download page which is an all in one install file you can launch directly.

Thanks very much for advice. I’ll give it a try later.

@Geit, now why wouldn’t they create an exe installer version of 0.19? If nothing else, it’s inconsistent; something that drives people nuts. And, IIRC, it’s basically trivial these days to take a bunch of files and create an installer from them.

Don´t ask me, but it is probably more work by hand, while a beta version is auto generated each night by running the build system. Compressing the stuff is one shell command in a makefile.

I can imagine that creating an self extracting installer executable needs more input and cannot performed that easy by script. On the other hand is the beta version only for experienced people who know what they are doing so why taking the effort each day?