Brand new to 3d printing and hitting many road blocks

I’m Brand new to 3d printing. I purchased a Ender 3 v2 earlier this month. I was having a ton of issues properly leveling the bed so I purchased a BLtouch and found DRVAX through his youtube video setting it up. And of course I have a ton of questions being completely new.

I have the BLtouch installed into the machine and I’ve downloaded the latest Smith3D firmware: V2.0.x.16-5x5-slow-100121

I have to manually pull the needle out of the BLtouch before I start my autohome or it will just flash at me. Is this normal?

Following along with the setup video around the 21:30 mark where we do a manual level under AUX leveling the printer will not respond at all to any of the commands… Any thoughts?

With me loving to mess with things I tried to Autolevel bed anyways. The BLtouch will randomly stop during the autolevel and just start blinking at me… Is this because I didn’t have a good bed level to begin with or is there more to play here?

Thanks for any guidance from here.

You definitely do not require to touch the touch sensor, even the name suggests so. Something in your configuration is wrong.

It should deploy before homing and retract before printing. It sounds like your wiring is wrong or the sensor is broken.

There is something wrong with your BL Touch setup. Look for an M48 sensor test in your printer’s menus.

When you turn the printer on the pin should pop in and out 2 times as it does it’s self test. At that point the pin will be retracted and the red led on solid.
Sometimes when I turn my printer on This fails and the led blinks. I just turn printer on and off until it does the self test. Sometimes I have to turn off and on 3 or 4 times before it works.

When hearing this I love that I not having a complex sensor at all and just using a plain switch and a thumb wheel. It just never fails :smiley: