Ways to use fasteners with printed parts?

I suppose the title says it all! I’m new to 3D printing. I’m a hobbyist and a DIYer. I’ve ordered a few prints of parts I’ve designed from online services before*. Everything I’ve had printed so far was either a proof-of-concept learning exercise or a stand-alone item. However, my next few parts are going to be either replacements parts – I like to add “repair” to “reduce, reuse, recycle” – or parts that interface between two things that are not commercially available and that I don’t have the tools, expertise, or time to make by hand. And occasionally to save on paying for the “name brand” fee for some needlessly expensive parts!

In terms of my other “maker” experience, I’ve done basic carpentry and woodworking, and am pretty good at making things that function, don’t fall down or apart, and sometimes even look good! I’m also pretty clever at walking into a hardware store with a problem in mind and leaving with a solution.

I’d love to hear people’s thoughts on different methods of using fasteners with 3D printed parts and the benefits and drawbacks of different approaches, especially for dynamic loads. I can think of these ways, but I’m sure there are more:

• tapping holes in printed parts
  • printing threads
  • leaving space for threaded inserts
  • leaving space for nuts
  • using self-tapping or wood screws
Thanks in advance!

– Becca

[SIZE=11px]* I will be getting my own 3D printer soon – my family has the good habit of dropping strong hints on occasions when gifts will be given and picking up on those hints![/SIZE]

Welcome! I used to love working with wood too years ago. I haven’t printed many functional parts yet myself, as I mostly print miniatures. Once you get the hang of 3D printing, you will be so addicted, lol!

Hi,
I also like making “stuff” that is functional and at times requires fasteners. So to that end below I will attempt to give my opinion of my experiences.
tapping holes in printed part