First Printing Project

This will be my first real post here, not sure how it will turn out. First, I have no real experience, no real 3d printer, leaning toward the ender 3 s1 pro. I have spent the past 3 weeks working for an understanding of how FreeCad works and think, with all of the countably many video’s available, I can eventually make anything I want to make. That is, from the model perspective. What I can’t find is how to know if the model one makes is actually printable.

Where does one find guidelines for what is going to print ok? In case you can’t tell by now, I’m a theoretician, i like to think things through maybe too much, before I actually attemp to make them.

My first project is a small piece that will be used to hold string light wires on a wood dowel rod. It sits on top of the dowel rod. My intention here was to show a picture of the piece, but can’t find the control to add a file.

As an aside, is it perfered to organize posts based on project or based on specific question?

1676482789178_Screenshot from 2023-02-08 16-59-01

Description of the part:

A wod dowel fits in the hole at the bottom. The threaded sections are to have printed bolts that hold the part evenly spaced on the pole. There is a protrusion on the inside that stops the pole from sliding down. This feature essentually raises the top of the pole so the wires are further from the ground. The heights for the protrusion and top are parameters, to be able to adjust the part.

The questions are:
Will the threads print correctly, i have read that threads should be printed on the z axis to eliminate the sag from the overhang problem? I dont mind them tight. If they are printed and close, can one tap them to make them fit better? I can always print a small cylinder with threads like this to experiment if thats a better way to figure this out. The thread feature are added with the freecad lattice2 workbench and are straight forward to implement.