From DrVax FreeCad tutorial to print, question about slicing and supports

This is perhaps a really stupid question. I am completely new to 3D design and 3D printing.
I followed the 3 introduction video’s on Freecad that DrVax made and that went very well. These video’s are great to get you started.
Regarding the deskclamp/cable holder design in part 3, when I export the STL and open it in Prusa Slicer (I have a Prusa i3 mk3s+ waiting to be built) I wonder if when you place the clamp vertically if you need supports to get the ‘fins’ to print properly or if these overhangs are possible to print without supports. Since the video is about the design and not especially about printing DrVax didn’t go in to that part.

This is the video:

This is the object as designed and imported in Prusa Slicer:

[ATTACH=JSON]{“data-align”:“none”,“data-size”:“medium”,“data-attachmentid”:6948}[/ATTACH]

There are always multiple things to consider, when placing a part on the build plate:

a) which requires the least amount support.
b) which side will be on the build plate (texture, reflective glas) as it will look different.
c) print with overhangs and where will they be
d) which sides should look the best

Your approach of printing the part in that orientation may work, but it won´t look good. Overhangs with a 90° radius are tricky and only work with a perfect tuned printer. Remember you will look onto the “fins” side all the time and want it to look the best. The only way to achieve that, is to print the fins on their side or vertically up.

You for sure will require support for the “table clamp” area, but you will never see it. It will be hidden. So print with supports only there and you get a pleasing result. You won´t save any plastic when printing in other orientations, as prints will likely fail or look bad. Better save than sorry.

I would go for the fins facing up option and reduce the support density to a minimum, as the inner part is not required to look good.