Print Cooling, Fusion, and Bridges

Here’s a quickie to give your brain some exercise - but consider that I might be wrong.

What I think is happening is this:

On most printers the part cooling fan blows a stream of “cool” air (ambient) at the nozzle or thereabouts depending on how well designed it is. In the case of the Ender 3 for example, there’s also a blast of warmish air coming down from the cold-end of the hot end (?), the temperature of which depends on how long the printer has been active.

So here’s the thing:

If we want to bridge, it’s not just how fast the nozzle can whizz in the direction the bridge is meant to go, it’s more a case of how fast the extruded plastic gets cooled. Because if it’s cooed too slowly, the plastic will sag; cooled too quickly and it won’t fuse.

Now given that different prints require different amounts of bridging, it struck me (and please, don’t feel bad to correct me, I’m still quite new to all of this) that when we’re bridging we need to run the part cooling fan at max speed and hope that it cools the extruded plastic quick enough to solidify it before gravity does what it’s done to my entire face… BUT when we’re building walls and such, we need the fan to cool less because that increases the fusion between layers. In fact, infill might even benefit from having almost no cooling at all for this very reason.

Stefan at CNCKitchen has done some tests to prove this but it’s a bit of a no-brainer to me. Fusing plastic is no different to welding and if you don’t melt the two parts sufficiently the weld doesn’t hold.