Cant follow your tutorial on FreeCad

I am studying your first tutorial on FreeCad My OS is Mac OS and I downloaded Freecad 0.1922246 but your version is 0.1921775 and your screen is very different from mine [ATTACH=JSON]{“data-align”:“none”,“data-size”:“medium”,“data-attachmentid”:2580}[/ATTACH][ATTACH=JSON]{“data-align”:“none”,“data-size”:“full”,“title”:“Screen Shot 2020-08-12 at 2.54.47 PM.png”,“data-attachmentid”:2579}[/ATTACH]

That’s the issue with technology in general, and open source in particular. With open source you have to rely on the kindness of strangers to produce manuals/videos on how to use it. Commercial software companies have to produce learning materials if they ever hope to sell any copies.

One thing you might try: get a hold of the same version of FreeCAD as Irv is using, learn it, then do what everyone who’s been using FreeCAD for years did: learn the differences in each new version. Yes, it’s more work, but it will give you a lot more exposure to the software, so you’ll understand it better.

When you first start the application you get the start page. You need to use the cycle showing “start page” and turn it to “part design”. That is your starting point.

You also can drag the tool bar around in sections to place them to your liking. This by default can look different as FreeCAD is folding some toolbars to make the default layout fit the screen with just to lines of tools.

Icons and layout change a lot these days as the 0.19 is getting closer to a final release.

However, when you have problems just ask for what you don´t find what issues you have.

I did begin with “parts design” because thats what Dr Vax did in the tutorial

but I made a little progress by dragging the tool bars around as you suggest

however I still dont see the same tool selection that Dr Vax has

and he is referencing tools that I dont have