Need Help with Modifying files

Hi, I’m really new to this and I’m doing a project that I need something changed and I have no clue how to do it. I’ve tried contacting the creator, but haven’t heard anything back.

This is the project:

I’ve been trying to figure out how to make the yellow and green part straight (no curves). I just need the the whole part straight and then curve at the top so the red part and blue part are just fine.

Thanks,
Rick

Have you tried Tinkercad (it’s free)? For something quick and dirty, i use that to hack an STL.

Cheers

I have no clue what I’m doing. I’m new it took me forever to be able to learn how to print.

I’m guessing I need to find someone to modify the files?

I usually find it easier to redesign things like this from scratch. I find it too time-consuming to try to modify STL files. Fortunately for you, the creator has very generously included a .STEP version of the model. I had a quick look and it is very possible to manipulate the model the way you want. FreeCAD or Fusion 360 should be able to do it pretty easily. Other programs that can work with STEP files should work too.

I get that you may not have CAD skills, so that can be a hinderance. Perhaps you could post an drawing, with measurements of what you want.

TinkerCad (https://www.tinkercad.com) is designed for kids and easy enough to hack things that even I can use it. If I understand correctly, you want to delete the green part and straighten the yellow part to look something like this:

[ATTACH=JSON]{“alt”:“Click image for larger version Name: TinkercadDuct2.jpg Views: 0 Size: 113.8 KB ID: 16499”,“data-align”:“none”,“data-attachmentid”:“16499”,“data-size”:“medium”}[/ATTACH]

Cheers